May 22, 2024  
2023-2024 Rivier Academic Catalog 
    
2023-2024 Rivier Academic Catalog

Academic Calendar


 ACADEMIC CALENDAR 2023-2024

FALL SEMESTER 2023   September 5 - December 15
Mon-Fri Aug. 21 - Sept. 1 Family Nurse Practitioner On Campus Intensives
Monday September 4 Labor Day - No classes
Tuesday September 5  Academic Convocation
Tuesday September 5  Term 1 (7 week classes) and 14 week classes Professional Studies/Online/Graduate/Doctoral classes begin
Wednesday September 6  Classes begin for 14 Week Day      
Monday September 11 End of Add/Drop period for Term 1 (7 week classes) and 14 week Professional Studies/Online/Graduate/Doctoral classes at 5 p.m.      
Tuesday September 12 End of Add/Drop period for 14 week Day classes at 5 p.m.
Monday October 2 Final date to withdraw “W” from Term 1 (7 week classes)
Monday October 2 Final day to complete “I” from Summer ‘23 
Monday October 9 Columbus Day - No meeting for 14 week Day classes. Term I (7 week classes) and 14 week Professional Studies/Online/Graduate/Doctoral classes meet
Tues-Mon October 17-23  Final Class meeting/Final Exams for Term 1 (7 week classes)
Friday   October 20 MIDTERM GRADES DUE for all 14 week undergraduate classes
Wednesday October 25  Term 2 (7 week classes) begin
Friday October 27 Final Grades for Term 1 (7 week classes) due by 12 p.m.
Tuesday October 31  Add/Drop period for Term 2 (7 week classes) ends at 5 p.m.
Tuesday November 14  Final date to withdraw “W” from 14 week classes
Tuesday November 21 Final date to complete “I” from Term 1 (7 week classes)
Tuesday November 21 Final date to withdraw “W” from Term 2 (7 week classes)
Wednesday November 22 Thanksgiving Vacation Begins-Wed. noon; vacation for all classes
Monday November 27 Classes Resume
Thursday             November 30   Intent to Graduate for January commencement due
Monday December 11 14 week classes end
Mon-Fri  December 11-15 Final Class meeting/Final Exams for Term 2 (7 week classes)
Tues-Fri    December 12-15  Final Exams for 14 week Day/Professional Studies/Online/Graduate/Doctorate 
Saturday December 16  Make up day for final exams
Tuesday December 19   Final grades for all classes due by 12 p.m.

SPRING SEMESTER 2024     JANUARY 16 - MAY 3
Mon-Fri Jan. 2-12     Family Nurse Practitioner On Campus Intensives
Monday  January 15  Martin Luther King Day - all 7 week classes will meet.  No meeting for 14 week classes.
Tuesday January 16   All 14 week classes begin
Monday  January 22   Add/Drop period for all classes ends at 5 p.m.
Thursday February 1  Intent to Graduate for May commencement due
Monday February 12 Final date to withdraw “W” from Term 1 (7 week classes)
Monday February 12 Final day to complete “I” from Fall ‘23
Tues-Mon  Feb. 27 - Mar. 4    Final Class meeting/Final Exams for Term 1 (7 week classes)
Friday March 1 MIDTERM GRADES DUE for 14 week undergraduate classes
Mon-Fri     March 4-8    Spring Vacation for 14 week classes only
Tuesday March 5 Make up day for Term 1 (7 week classes)
Friday   March 8    Final Grades due for Term 1 (7 week classes) by 12 p.m.
Friday  March 15 Term 2 (7 week classes) begin
Thursday   March 21 Add/Drop period for Term 2 (7 week classes) ends at 5 p.m.
Thursday   March 28   Easter recess begins: No meeting for 14 week Day/Professional Studies/Online/Graduate/Doctorate classes. Term 2 (7 week classes) will meet   
Friday March 29    Good Friday - no classes
Sunday  March 31 Easter Sunday
Monday April 1    Classes resume
Monday  April 1   Final date to withdraw “W” from 14 week classes
Thursday   April 11 Final date to withdraw “W” from Term 2 (7 week classes)
Thursday  April 11  Final day to complete “I” from Term 1 (7 week classes)
Monday April 29  14 week Day classes end
Mon-Fri  April 29-May 3 Final Class meeting/Final Exams for Term 2 (7 week classes) 
Tues-Fri   April 30-May 3    Final Exams for 14 week Day/Prof. Studies/Online/Graduate/Doctorate classes
Saturday  May 4     Make up day for final exams
Tuesday May 7 Final grades for all classes due by 12 p.m.
Sunday May 12  Commencement

 


SUMMER SEMESTER      May 13 - August 22
Term 1 (7 week format )     May 13- June 27
Monday May 13     Classes begin
Friday May 17  Add/Drop period for Term 1 (7 week classes) ends at 5 p.m.
Monday May 27  Memorial Day - no classes held
Friday   May 31  Make up day for Monday (5/27) classes
Friday   June 7    Final date to withdraw “W” from Term 1 (7 week classes)
Friday   June 7    Final date to complete “I” from Spring ‘24
Wednesday June 19  Juneteenth - offices closed, online and clinicals will meet
Mon-Thurs    June 24-27 Final Class meeting/Final Exams for Term 1 (7 week classes)
Tuesday  July 2 Final grades due by 12 p.m.
     
Term 2 (7 week format)   June 28 - August 22
Monday June 28 Classes begin
Thursday   July 4    Independence Day - no classes held
Friday July 5    Add/Drop period for Term 2 (7 week classes)  ends at 5 p.m.
Friday July 12    Make up day for Thursday (7/4) classes
Friday July 26   Final date to complete “I” from Summer-Term 1
Friday July 26   Final date to withdraw “W” from any Term 2 classes
Thursday August 1  Intent to Graduate for September commencement due
Mon- Thurs August 19-22 Final Class meeting/Final Exams for Term 2 (7 week classes) 
Tuesday   August 22   Final grades due by 12 p.m.
     
Summer Long format        May 13- August 22
Monday    May 13  Classes begin
Friday May 17 Add/Drop period for Summer Long classes ends at 5 p.m.
Monday May 27   Memorial Day - no classes held
Friday May 31    Make up day for Monday (5/27) classes
Wednesday  June 19   Juneteenth - offices closed, online and clinicals will meet
Friday   June 28    Make up day for Thursday (7/5) classes
Thursday   July 4 Independence Day - no classes held
Friday   July 19   Final date to withdraw “W” from any Summer Long classes
Mon- Thurs Aug 19-22  Final Class meeting/Final Exams for Summer Long classes
Tuesday August 27      Final grades due by 12 p.m.